Viscount Domus back in business

image

Tonight I did something I’ve thought about for a while: I disconnected the pedalboard from my midi encoder and moved it from my virtual organ console back to the old Domus. As I hadn’t altered the pedalboard at all, the whole operation took about two minutes.

The rationale is very simple. The time slots for practise that I get are often very short and unpredictable. Booting the computer and loading a virtual organ takes a couple of minutes — time that could be better spent practising. In addition, I often need to cease practising with very short notice, and shutting everything down is also a couple of steps. So I figured that it would make sense to use the organ that I can simply switch on, play, and swith off. Should work well for practise, although I will miss the sound quality from my Hauptwerk setup. But switching back is as simple a process if I should want to.

As a side note, I am considering exchanging my old Domus for a new, digital, organ. Something that should greatly improve the sound quality, while maintaining the on-play-off simplicity. We’ll see what Santa can do in this area…

Leave a comment

Filed under Hauptwerk setup

Leave a comment